2018 Sundance Film Festival Winners

Sundance 18 logo

Festival Favorite Award

  • Science Fair, directed by Cristina Costantini, Darren Foster

U.S. Dramatic Competition

  • U.S. Dramatic Grand Jury Prize Award: The Miseducation of Cameron Post, directed by Desiree Akhavan
  • U.S. Dramatic Audience Award: Burden, directed by Andrew Heckler
  • U.S. Dramatic Directing Award: The Kindergarten Teacher, directed by Sara Colangelo
  • U.S. Dramatic Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Nancy, written by Christina Choe
  • U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Outstanding First Feature: Monsters and Men, directed by Reinaldo Marcus Green
  • U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Excellence in Filmmaking: I Think We’re Alone Now, directed by Reed Morano
  • U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Achievement in Acting: Benjamin Dickey, Blaze

U.S. Documentary Competition

  • U.S. Documentary Grand Jury Prize Award: Kailash, directed by Derek Doneen
  • U.S. Documentary Audience Award: The Sentence, directed by Rudy Valdez
  • U.S. Documentary Directing Award, On Her Shoulders, directed by Alexandria Bombach
  • U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Social Impact: Crime + Punishment, directed by Stephen Maing
  • U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Creative Vision: Hale County This Morning, This Evening, directed by RaMell Ross
  • U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Filmmaking: Minding the Gap, directed by Bing Liu
  • U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Storytelling: Three Identical Strangers, directed by Tim Wardle


World Cinema Dramatic Competition

  • World Cinema Dramatic Grand Jury Prize: Butterflies, directed by Tolga Karacelik
  • World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award: The Guilty, directed by Gustav Moller
  • World Cinema Dramatic Directing Award: And Breathe Normally, directed by Isold Uggadottir
  • World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award for Acting: Valerie Bertuccelli, The Queen of Fear
  • World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award for Screenwriting: Time Share (Tiemp Compartido), written by Julio Chavezmontes and Sebastian Hofmann
  • World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award for Ensemble Acting: Dead Pigs, directed by Cathy Yan

World Cinema Documentary Competition

  • World Cinema Documentary Grand Jury Prize: Of Fathers and Sons, directed by Talai Derki
  • World Cinema Documentary Audience Award: This Is Home, directed by Alexandra Shiva
  • World Cinema Documentary Directing Award: Shirkers, directed by Sandi Tan
  • World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award: Matangi/Maya/M.I.A., presented to director Stephen Loveridge and M.I.A.
  • World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Cinematography: Genesis 2.0, Peter Indergand and Maxim Arbugaev
  • World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Editing: Our New President, Maxim Pozdorovkin and Matvey Kulakov


  • NEXT Audience Award: Search, directed by Aneesh Chaganty
  • NEXT Innovator Award: (tie) Night Comes On, directed by Jordana Spiro; We the Animals, directed by Jeremiah Zagar

Short Film Awards

  • Short Film Grand Jury Prize: Matria, directed by Alvaro Gago
  • Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction: Hair Wolf, directed by Mariama Diallo
  • Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction: Would You Look at Her, directed by Goran Stolevski
  • Short Film Jury Award: Nonfiction: The Trader (Sovdagari), directed by Tamta Gabrichidze
  • Short Film Jury Award: Animation: Glucose, directed by Jeron Braxton


Special Jury Awards: Emergency, directed by Carey Williams; Fauve, directed by Jérémy Comte; and For Nonna Anna, directed by Luis De Filippis.

Sundance Institute Open Borders Fellowship Presented by Netflix: Of Fathers and Sons (Syria), directed by Talal Derki; Untitled (India), directed by Chaitanya Tamhane; and Night on Fire, directed by Tatiana Huezo

Sundance Institute / NHK Award: His House, directed by Remi Weekes.

Sundance Institute Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize: Search, Aneesh Chaganty and Sev Ohanian

One thought on “2018 Sundance Film Festival Winners

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.