Shape of Water


This film was different from our normal fare.  Sally Hawkins and Richard Jenkins were charming and Michael Shannon was frightening.  Your basic prejudice tale of “to know them is to love them and to not know them is to fear them”.    Set in the early 60’s, most of the characters are outliers.  Elisa (Hawkins) is mute, Zelda (Octavia Spencer) is African American, Giles (Jenkins) is gay and the creature is a creature.  But Strickland (Shannon) and Hofstetler (Michael Stuhlbarg) are actually the most sinister.  The ending was sweet and rounded out Elisa’s story of how she became mute.   We particularly enjoyed the scene where the creature was standing in the theater, as we saw the movie in that theater – the Elgin theater in Toronto, while attending TIFF in 2017.


Official Synopsis

Elisa is a mute, isolated woman who works as a cleaning lady in a hidden, high-security government laboratory in 1962 Baltimore. Her life changes forever when she discovers the lab’s classified secret — a mysterious, scaled creature from South America that lives in a water tank. As Elisa develops a unique bond with her new friend, she soon learns that its fate and very survival lies in the hands of a hostile government agent and a marine biologist.

Shape of Water – TIFF Interview


Principle Cast Sally HawkinsOctavia Spencer, Michael ShannonRichard Jenkins, Michael Stuhlbarg
Director Guillermo del Toro
Screenwriter  Guillermo del Toro
Cinematographer Dan Laustsen
Editor Sidney Wolinsky
Run Time 123 minutes
Genre Drama, Adventure, Fantasy
Premier Venice Film Festival 2017
Academy Award Nominations Best Motion Picture of the Year
Best Director – Guillermo del Toro
Best Actress in a Leading Role – Sally Hawkins
Best Actor in a Supporting role- Richard Jenkins
Best Actress in a Supporting Role – Octavia Spencer
Best Original Score – Alexandre Desplat
Best Original Screenplay – Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor
Best Cinematography – Dan Laustsen
Best Costume Design – Luis Sequeira
Best Sound Editing – Nathan Robitaille & Nelson Ferreira
Best Sound Mixing – Christian T.Cooke, Glen Gauthier & Brad Zoem
Best Film Editing – Sidney Wolinsky
Best Production Design – Paul D.Austerberry, Shane Vieau & Jeffrey A. Melvin


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.